We gathered at 7pm, only having heard about the walk during the day, a group of about 30 with a cheerful dachshund who accompanied us tail wagging along the route. The excellent John Gallagher, a local historian, led us around Ye Olde City explaining where the Lost Pubs had once stood with a brief history. There had been up to 60 pubs in the City centre in the 1700-1800's, many completely demolished over the years but several original buildings still stand if you just look up!
This was a fascinating evening, full of stories and factoids about the lost pubs. On Lichfield Lore Kate's excellent local history site, there is further more detailed information on several of these sites. This was an excellent evening, many thanks to Kate and John.
Here are just a few with their previous names....
|The Windsor Castle in Dam Street|
|The Wheatsheaf in Bird Street|
|The Rose & Crown in Bird Street|
|On Kennings corner|
|The Holly Bush, top Greenhill|
|The Mitre, bottom of Greenhill|
|The site of The Bunch of Grapes|
|The Old Crown (a fond courting memory!)|
|The Dolphin hotel which later became the Co-op.|
|The Goat's Head Hotel now Barclays |
on the corner of Bore Street and Breadmarket Street.
|The Woolpack in Bore Street.|
|The Castle, 1700's ale house, Market Street|
|The Malt Shovel hotel in the Market Square.|